Why I still honor the Jewish High Holidays


The Jewish High Holidays are upon us.  This is the most sacred season within the Jewish community.  They begin with Rosh Hashanah and end with Yom Kippur.  During this ten-day span the focus is upon repentance and making one’s life in right standing with G_d.

As many of you know I was in a long-term relationship with a Jewish woman.  Over time I grew to love and embrace Judaism.  I found a great deal of solace during the high holidays.  During the 2008 High Holidays my life was in shambles.  I had serious and life altering injuries from a car accident.  I could verily function physically.  I couldn’t work thus I had no purpose as much of my identity was tied to what I did.  My relationship was unraveling before my very eyes.  I felt as if my soul had been murdered and feelings of powerless and loneliness were my constant companions.

Yom Kippur 2008 proved to be a turning point in my life.   During a time of personal reflection and prayer these words formed in my mind G_d if you are real I need you.  I believe that pray, changed the course of my life.  Four years later I sit in awe knowing what has transpired.  I was not actively seeking to enter in to a relationship with Jesus Christ whom I now embrace as the Messiah.  I have concluded that true repentance is more about entering into agreement with G_d and aligning my life with His values, principles and standards.  Not because I feel I must but because I desire to honor Him with my life.

In fact I never intended on surrendering my life to Jesus.  I was not compelled to escape hell for the assurance of heaven.  He drew me by offering me the one thing my life was void of peace.  Listen to his words from John 14:27- “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.”  Isaiah 26:3-4 - You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.  Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord G_d is an everlasting rock.

My friends, peace only exists as we yield our lives to the Elohim the one who creates and created us.  This peace is gained in a life of agreement and harmony with a G_d who has only the best intentions for our lives.   This path has required surrender of my own beliefs for what is true.  I have yielded my sexuality to Him not because He hates me, but because his original intent was not for me to find my deepest needs filled in another person (they never were) but in Him alone.  I choose to trust His design for human sexuality as the optimal best.

As I close this year my heart is heavy for those of you who I know who have yet to engage in relationship with the Messiah and discover peace in your life.  On Wednesday and Thursday next week I will observe Yom Kippur you will be in my prayers.  May you know G_d, and may you discover Shalom. Shalom can be defined as a status of tranquility, completeness, wholeness, soundness, rest and harmony.

I would love to engage in a meaningful conversation with you about this process.  Please feel free to contact me here.  As always your comments and thoughts are welcome.

Shalom, my friends!

~ by hopespassage on September 21, 2012.

2 Responses to “Why I still honor the Jewish High Holidays”

  1. I LOVE this Hope. I know very little about Judaism but have always felt a longing to know more, even before I met Yeshua the Messiah. Of course I am interested in the food! But the history amazes me and without that account of times gone by we would have no saving grace as we know it today. You have inspired a new journey through Old Testament history to help me better understand who God is and where I fit into all this today.
    I too have found Shalom. Who ever the Son sets free is free indeed!
    Thanks Hope!
    Shalom my friend!

    • Brian

      Thanks for your thoughts. I think we miss so much by not embracing many of the traditions within Judaism. Remembering and history are only part of the traditions, but the reverence for Who G_d is and importance of relationships are among the the ones I embrace.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 534 other followers

