Kung Fu Panda and Me


I will readily admit I have always loved animation, everything from the classic Disney Song of the South to Pixar’s Cars 1&2.  Recently I have discovered Kung Fu Panda one and two. 

For those of you who have not seen Kung Fun Panda; the story revolves around Po a tender-hearted bumbling panda, who works beside Mr. Ping his father a loveable goose (obviously not his biological father) in the family noodle business.  Po is the biggest Kung Fu fan around and aspires to be a Kung Fu warrior.  Po is unwittingly named the chosen Dragon Warrior destined to bring peace to the land.

In Kung Fu Panda 2, Po studies Kung Fu and fights to restore justice in China.  He is challenged to find inner peace as he faces repressed memories of abandonment and discovers who he really is.  Towards the end of the film Po comes face to face with Shen a diabolical peacock whose selfishness separated Po from his birth parents. The following are my favorite lines from the film.

Soothsayer: Your story may not have such a happy beginning, but that doesn’t make you who you are. It is the rest of your story, who you choose to be… So, who are you, Panda?

Shen: How did you find peace? I took away your parents, everything, I scarred you for life…

Po: See that’s the thing, Shen, scars heals.

Shen: No they don’t… *wounds* heal.

Po: Oh, yeah… what do scars do? They fade, I guess…

Shen: I don’t care what scars do…!

Po: You should, Shen. You got to let go of the stuff from the past – because it just doesn’t matter! The only thing that matters is what you choose to be now.

That’s a pretty deep conversation for movie intended for children.  Nonetheless, it spoke to me right where I am in my journey.  It has been a process for me to face my abandonment and rejection issues of my family.  Just like Po I had no idea who I really was and have finally come to a place of accepting the past and moving forward.  Many of the wounds have healed.  Some of them have left nasty scars that will serve as a reminder of where I have came from. I have been down the therapy road had some resolve and closure.  It has not been until I became a committed follower of Jesus Christ that deep healings and the discovery of “who I really am” brought true healing.  I am woman created in God’s image; I was created a woman on purpose with purpose.  I am a daughter of King Jesus. 

Yes I had a terrible childhood; I have both physical and emotional scars that mark that history.  I have the propensity to be attracted to women.  I have spent a lifetime as a gay identified woman.  I now choose not to engage in same-sex relationships; because it is not Gods best or intended purpose for me.  I choose to follow Gods word on this matter and live a happy and fulfilling life of celibacy and sexual purity.  The labels of gay or straight do not matter to me anymore all that matters is that Jesus is the focal point of my of life.  This is my inner peace.

 

Yes, Kung Fu Panda said it best “The only thing that matters is, what you choose to be now!”

~ by hopespassage on December 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
