Hopes Musings


These are three of the poems I have written in the last 18 months and are reflective of my journey.

 

The Woman Within

Her white dress crumpled on the floor

Beside it her dignity, honor and personhood.

All discarded for the satisfaction of her father and mother.

 Trust lost in single and repetitive actions.

Replaced by defense and self-preservation.

Pain displaced, her very soul seared and left in vast need.

Who she was born to be now she despised and discarded

 all things feminine.

Can this girl be restored?

Will she ever embrace, the royal robes of womanhood?

Many years later she has met her creator and healer.

Before her very eyes she does not recognize

The image of the woman in the mirror.

She often feels that she has betrayed herself as she

Begins to clothe herself with the robes of womanhood.

From the inside out.

Can this girl be restored?

Will she ever embrace, the royal robes of womanhood?

Silent Screams

Can you hear the piercing shrieks?

Screaming so loud, that it shatters my soul with profound darkness. Pain pulsating through my veins. Sending me into the horrific events that were witnessed by my eyes and acts my hands were forced to do. The relentless feeling of powerlessness. There are no words to explain only the sorrow locked deep within and yes the silent screams.

Oh my wounded shattered soul you have been imprisoned by silence, now be released! Let your agony be heard. The memories that haunt my mind and cause shame, guilt and defeat be gone. Linger no more. You have paralyzed my life far too long silent screams.

The time has come for the inaudible utterances to be given sound and unfetter my soul from your control. Silent screams let your voice be heard and then be laid to rest in peace.

 One last picture

Today I parted with one last picture of you

It is more than just you it is with all I believed to be true.

We shared a life that wasn’t right

and now it has passed into the night.

When I let go of you, part of me vanished too.

So enmeshed so entwined in our neediness.

We strove to become one flesh

and fought like hell to remain individuals.

Did I truly love you?

If love seeks to complete the part of me that lacks, then

yes I loved you.

If love seeks to complement and build the other towards their destiny,

then no I did love you.

How could we have believed that we completed each other?

What a burden and expectation we demanded of one another.

Today, I let go of the idolatrous image I held of you.

The picture I held of you wasn’t true;

the last image, I see of you now is broken and wounded too.

~ by hopespassage on January 8, 2012.

3 Responses to “Hopes Musings”

  1. You can undoubtedly see your skills within the function you write. The world hopes for a lot more passionate writers like you who arent afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart 578965

  2. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: hopespassage.wordpress.com/2012/01/08/hopes-musings/ […]…

Leave a Reply

 
