Created with Intention


As I shared in my last posting that Psalms 139 provoked a myriad of feelings and questions within me. I found verses 13-16 very hard to accept or agree with.

13-16 Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out;
      you formed me in my mother’s womb.
   I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking!
      Body and soul, I am marvelously made!
      I worship in adoration—what a creation!
   You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body;
   you know exactly how I was made, bit by bit,
      how I was sculpted from nothing into something.
   Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth;
      all the stages of my life were spread out before you,
   the days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.

As a gay identified Christian an internal conflict was simmering and approaching a boiling point as I dug into Psalms 139.   I questioned the intentionality of God creating me as a woman; even more than that I was beginning to question whether being gay was predominately genetic.  Both questions drove me to the Bibles story of creation in Genesis chapters one –three. 

1:26- God spoke: “Let us make human beings in our image, make them reflecting our nature.  So they can be responsible for the fish in the sea, the birds in the air, the cattle, and, yes, Earth itself, and every animal that moves on the face of Earth.

27- God created human beings; he created them godlike, Reflecting God’s nature. He created them male and female

Hold on!  What humans are to reflect Gods image?  Did I read this right?  That humanity both men and women were designed in the image of God and are to reflect His nature.  This sounds not only intentional but bestows honor and privilege on all humanity but also to each of the genders. 

I felt an internal shift within me as these thoughts came pouring out of me onto paper.

Here Yahweh Elohim, the one true God who creates, fashioned both men and women after Himself to reveal His image to each other.  This is our highest responsibility in life. What a profound thought!  What a different perspective to live focused on reflecting God image to others among both men and women. 

So then if both women and men are designed with this intention of bearing Gods image; why is it I thought women were of less importance?  The answers were forthcoming as I continued to read on into Genesis chapter 2.

18 Then the LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper who is just right for him.” 19 So the LORD God formed from the ground all the wild animals and all the birds of the sky. He brought them to the man to see what he would call them, and the man chose a name for each one. 20 He gave names to all the livestock, all the birds of the sky, and all the wild animals. But still there was no helper just right for him.

 21 So the LORD God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep. While the man slept, the LORD God took out one of the man’s ribsand closed up the opening. 22 Then the LORD God made a woman from the rib, and he brought her to the man.  Will be called ‘woman,’ because she was taken from ‘man.”

Every preconceived idea I had about the Christian prospective of men and women raised its ugly head in the moment. Men are favored and given dominance over the earth but more specifically women.  Women were only good to reproduce, keep men happy.  My own brokenness towards men and Gods creation of them; it was as if someone had taken a surgical knife and cut through the healed scars and foul-smelling puss can oozing out. 

For the majority of my life my limited experiences with men indicated that women were used only to satisfy men’s sexual needs and that they served as great punching bags.   However the relationships I was forming with people within in my church body were very different from my perceptions.

Was this the blessing that God was referring to in Genesis; my destiny now as a Christian to allow men to have dominance over me and sit back and be even lower than second class as I was beyond child-bearing age. 

Genesis 1:28-Then God blessed them and said, “Prosper, be fruitful, reproduce, multiply. Fill the earth and take charge and govern it.”  Prosper! Reproduce! Fill Earth! Take charge.

I really had a hard time wrapping my head around all of this.  Yet as I dug into the Hebrew meanings for men and women Gods spirit began to whisper powerful statements to me.

Iysh-The Hebrew word for “man” formed from nothing or the existing materials; with the implication of something new being formed by Yahweh.

 Ishshah- The Hebrew word for woman implies was a designated creation taken out of man.  It also distinguishes that woman’s creation was w hammered out into a jewelers mounting. 

I had one friend who had shared with me that woman was the crowned jewel of God’s creation.  At the time I blew it off, but as I read the definition I recalled her words.  So God was beginning to show me that women we not a second class citizen in His kingdom but a creation that was highly valued.

 At this point was beginning to come to a place of acceptance concerning men and women.  It would be another year and half before I would come to full agreement with the following.

  •  Both men and women were created in the image of God.
  • Each gender specifically reflects aspects of Gods nature and character.
  • That each gender is of equal value and worth in Gods economy.

 I welcome your comments and contributions to this discussion.

~ by hopespassage on February 11, 2012.

8 Responses to “Created with Intention”

  1. It is unfortunate, that the world we live in has to confuse the issue of human beings. Our thoughts, however personal they may be, are a process of determining what we want. Making our views the most important. It is God’s viewpoint that is most important. I am glad that you have taken the time to listen to God, and to follow Him, in His Word. Our eyes will be opened to what He is saying when we allow Him to show us His truth. I pray that you will learn what He is teaching, and that your walk with Him becomes a closer walk each day. God Bless.

    • thanks so much Jeff
      It is process yo come into agreement with the tuth of God and His word. This has been at times challenging if not unraveling for me. However as I have yeilded my own thoughts and believes to His standard I am more free than the step before.

  2. wow… good stuff. I can relate. I’m anxious for the next part. Lot to think about. Thanks

  3. Amen Sister!

    As a spiritual director who works with women, especially moms, I have found that women do not believe they are equal to men, held in the same esteem in God’s eyes. Why would God create women in his/her (?) own image if women were not wonderful

  4. Very interesting Hope! Thank you for sharing ‘you’ with us and helping so many, including myself, learn more about ourselves and who we are in the eyes of God. I too, noticed at some point in my life that there were many males who hold this worldview of women. Women are to be loved and protected, not dominated and ordered around like chattel.

    If anyone is confused as to the very important role women play in God’s plan to bring his children back to him, they should answer this question. Who was the first person to whom Jesus revealed himself after his resurrection? A woman! If God created women to be second class, unimportant in his humankind redemption plan, he would have never allowed for Mary Magdalene the honor.

Leave a Reply

 
